The village of Toomebridge is located 12 miles from Antrim town at a traditional crossing point of the River Bann where it meets Lough Neagh. While six main rivers drain into the Lough, only the River Bann drains out of it.
Toome derives its name from the Irish “Tuaim” meaning “pagan burial place” although the site of that burial place has not been identified. Excavation work on Toome Canal unearthed the remains of the late 17th century Toome Castle, one of several defensive castles constructed around the loughshore during the 1600’s.
Toomebridge is best known for the catching and processing of Lough Neagh Eels, which are exported to markets all over the world. There is a picturesque walk along Toome Canal which reaches the shores of Lough Neagh and a viewpoint provides picturesque views over the Lough.